top of page

10 Reasons for the Internet to Exist

Okay, gang, I need you to bear with me on this week’s post. I know this is the Science & Technology category. I know you see that little red box up there at the top of the post, I see it too. Perhaps by the time this introduction is over, I can convince you that what follows will qualify for - nay, surpass - the demands of the brief. After all, is science not all around us? Are the natural world and the creatures that roam within it not part of the scientific landscape? And are we not using technology, at this very moment, to communicate our ideas and findings? In fact, has technology not changed the way we communicate with each other and shone a light on which ideas we desire to share the most? I believe so. And if you do, too, then I hope you enjoy the following list of Ten Cats I Found on the Internet.


Mr. J is a former stray who lives in Japan with the human who adopted him (known affectionately as Landlady) and his apprentice, Kofu. A striking flame point Siamese, J frequently receives love notes from followers of his blog comparing him to foods like toasted marshmallows, mashed potatoes, or grilled tofu. Kofu was adopted as a kitten a few years ago; now he’s all grown up, but still the little brother!


Orange cats are enjoying a moment on the Internet right now, and this one is no exception! Jimmy always looks like he’s smiling thanks to the shape of his eyes and the way his fur sits on his cheeks. It’s impossible not to smile back!


Cute face, great name, incredible window sleeping spot that always tricks her neighbors into thinking she’s dead. Plus the audio in Broccoli’s insta reels live in my brain rent-free.


Easily the best name on the list, and also totally fitting. I would die for Princess Monster Truck.


THESE CATS ARE IN LOVE!! Pangur and Grim are on opposite ends of the “what kind of cat is this” spectrum, but they’re inseparable and sometimes they wear little hats. They also have a part-time roommate named Wednesday who gets honorable mention for being so, so soft.


Zelda has a fabulously round face, big ol’ eyes, and a penchant for short poems. The Betty Boop of internet cats.


Just out here trying his best, Jorts is further proof that orange cats are the himbos we deserve. He became famous because his human colleague decided to post about him navigating unrealistic workplace expectations.


I’ve loved Thurston since his Vine days. I’ve loved Thurston since before it was cool. RIP to the Shrimp King, gone but not forgotten. <3


A local star, Miu is this week’s Cat of the Week at the Animal Services Center of Mesilla Valley! ASCMV shines the spotlight on one special cat (and dog!) every week, and this week it’s Miu’s turn. For most people, she will only be an internet cat… but for you, perhaps true love??


  • 10. My cats

Did you think this list wasn’t just an excuse to post my own cats? What are you, new?


The Lieutenant


Crookshanks


Gentleman Jack


Don’t let this post mislead you - I know we benefit from (and are bombarded by) untold numbers of technological advancements every day that we move through the world. I don’t mean to minimize or ignore the contributions of scientists, inventors, or academics that have shaped our lives. But if I read articles with too many abbreviations my brain slides out of my ears, and if that’s also true for you then I hope you find this post refreshing.


23 views7 comments

7件のコメント


Yvette
2023年11月17日

This was such a fun read, I love internet cats (mom Natilla and her kids Gandalf and Dave are fun cats, and I love Uni the cat). I’ve only heard of a few on these lists, so I’ll have to check them all out! the intro totally threw me off my game when it was about cats, but it was funny and great! Also thank you for sharing your cats, they’re so beautiful and cute!!

いいね!

Reyes
Reyes
2023年11月17日

I really like how this showed the amiable side of the internet with cat memes. I have turned my cat Cersei and her sister Cleo into some wacky memes before.

いいね!

Kae Hamrick
2023年11月17日

This was such a fun post to read and I loved the pictures of your cats at the end! Crookshanks is precious!!

いいね!

Gabriel
Gabriel
2023年11月16日

My favorite cat on the internet right now is named Nana, and she’s a British shorthair who lives in China. Youve probably seen her in memes: https://m.weibo.cn/u/6483141345

いいね!
emburr
emburr
2023年11月17日
返信先

I love Nana, she's so cute!!

いいね!

Jen England
Jen England
2023年11月15日

THIS IS WHY THE INTERNET WAS CREATED. Give my love to The Lieutenant, Crookshanks, and especially Gentleman Jack (I have an especially soft spot for orangies) 😍

Penny (left) and Kyle (right)

編集済み
いいね!
bottom of page