top of page

Go, Go, Power Rangers?

The Power Ranger franchise has been around for a long time, since 1993 to be exact. On the website https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_Rangers it gives lots of information on the series and its history. The series has normally been aimed at kids under the age of twelve, but kids older than twelve will still watch it. It has always been a very popular franchise since it first debuted in 1993. Kids today will still dress up as a Power Ranger for Halloween, play with Power Ranger toys, watch the show, or read the comic books.


Go, go, Power Rangers!

Production

This series has been owned by four different companies; Saban Entertainment (1993-2001), The Walt Disney Company (2001-2010), Saban Brands (2010-2018), and now Hasbro (2018-present). It started off being owned by Saban Entertainment from 1993 to 2001. All nine seasons, eight series', and two movies of the Power Rangers were good to watch on Fox Kids. When the series was bought in 2001 by another company (The Walt Disney Company) it made nine more seasons and nine more series' and still were good. These seasons/series started airing on ABC Kids and Jetix. They then sold the series in 2010 and the new company (Saban Brands) made eight more seasons and eight more series' and started airing on Nickelodeon. When it was sold to Hasbro in 2018, Power Rangers made five more seasons, three more series', and one movie still showed on Nickelodeon but then changed to Netflix on the twenty-eighth season.


Review

In its first twenty-seven seasons I liked to watch the Power Rangers, but now I believe that their owners should stop making new ones. Now, I believe that the newer seasons have started becoming too cheesy. The two newest series' (owned by Hasbro) are very similar to the first series of the franchise, said so on the website https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_Rangers_Dino_Fury. Instead I think that they should just start reshowing the old seasons in the franchise on television. I am sure the kids of this generation would still enjoy them like the kids from the past generations did. There are also many people in the world that the newest sets of series in the franchise are no longer worth watching. Websites have made Worst to Best or Best to Worst lists for all the series' to show what they think of all the series' (https://screenrant.com/power-rangers-top-shows-ranked/#power-rangers-samurai-2011---2012). I had grown up with the seasons from 2011-2018 and liked all of the seasons I got to watch. However, later on I did find a way to watch all of the other seasons I did not see and see why other kids liked those ones. When I look at the lists I find on the Internet I may not always agree with them, but I can understand why those writers would based on the descriptions they put to explain why.

Some of the best episodes in each season would normally be the ones where the team or veteran ranger(s) from the previous season(s) would come and help the current team. Four Power Ranger teams (Ninja Storm, Mystic Force, Jungle Fury, and RPM) never saw any previous rangers from previous seasons though. The seasons' storylines would always have a reason on why the villains are trying to take over the place the season takes place in (Earth, space, or another planet/galaxy). There would usually be different ways in how the rangers became rangers, either they inherited it from family, or they were chosen through destiny, or it could have been through luck. In all seasons there would be another ranger(s) that would join in halfway through the season, they would just be in different ways. Each team would normally start out with either five members or three members (they will always have a red, blue, and yellow ranger). Normally this is what made the show interesting to watch and each episode could specifically focus on one ranger or more than one.


It's Morphin' Time!

12 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All

6 comentarios


Griselda G
Griselda G
03 nov 2023

This takes me back when I loved watching the Power Rangers followed by Pucca, and that was just peak childhood right there. I personally loved Power Rangers Time Force, and I'm not sure if it happens in any other Power Rangers series but in this one, the red ranger dies! and it's sad because the pink ranger was engaged to him so she was devastated. It's not a spoiler because it's what kicks off the series because that's episode 1 can you believe that? I also recommend SPD, Dino Thunder, and though I'm not a huge fan of Mystic Force, they sure were something else. I do in fact love Ninja Storm as they are a close 2nd but Time…

Me gusta

anavalos
anavalos
03 nov 2023

Childhood memories came rolling in!!!

Me gusta

Jen England
Jen England
02 nov 2023

I feel so old 😶. Although I was never really into Power Rangers, I appreciate its longevity and how it's morphed (pun intended) over time. It's literally a generational franchise—that's such a cool, and still relatively unusual, thing.

Me gusta

Vaisnave
Vaisnave
02 nov 2023

It has been so long since I've watched Power Rangers, and I honestly don't remember much. But I say that this idea of prolonging a series can apply to other franchise, like the Fast and Furious franchise. This could also apply to how the film industry is doing more adaptations of original movies (i.e. live action Disney movies) instead of creating new films. I wonder if this relates to the writer's strike in the industry...

Me gusta

Raquel Burris
Raquel Burris
01 nov 2023

This was suchhhhh a flashback. I watched it a lot because of my little brother, and the only thing I liked about the entire show was the pink power ranger. But honestly it was a good show especially to him who loved watching it non-stop.

Me gusta
bottom of page