top of page

Good Earbuds for Less Than $100

Today I will be reviewing the Soundcore Space A40 SE by Anker. These are noise canceling wireless earbuds that come with their own charging case.


The retail price for these earbuds at Walmart is $89. They are not the most high-end product you can buy, but when it comes to shopping on a budget it is important to know what is worth your time, and these are.


On the actual packaging they come in it is noted that they have adaptive active noise cancelling, Hi-res sound, 10hr play time and extended to 50 hours with the charging case, lightweight compatibility, and Bluetooth multipoint connectivity.


I have been using these earbuds since mid-July this year, so I have come to experience all that they claim to offer.


Hi-res Sound and Noise Cancelling

The main function of any pair of earbuds and headphones is to provide an adequate listening experience. What good is a pair of earbuds if you don’t like the way they sound?


I always focus more on the sound earbuds can provide over all other details. It is the one biggest deal breakers for me. If I can’t listen to my trash pop songs with a good bass, then I will buy something else immediately.


All that being said I can confirm the sound on these is amazing. Especially paired with the noise canceling feature. It is impressively easy to tune out the world and all your surroundings when you are playing music on these.


However, the noise canceling feature on its own is subpar. As stated before, these are on the cheaper side when it comes to earbuds that are known for their noise cancelling features, so it is unfair to expect any life changing technology.


When they are used at their highest noise cancellation frequency you won't hear most of the background or white noise in a room, but you can definitely hear people around you they are just muffled.

Battery life and Compatibility

These earbuds have a surprisingly long life. Without charging them in the case I have used them for a day straight without them dying. Even the case has a long life because I’ve only had to charge it after 2 weeks of use and the battery will only go down by a third which is indicated by the three glowing lights on the case.


I have gone through several different kinds of Bluetooth earbuds and the clunkiest part on most of them is always going to be the case. On these earbuds the case is basically weightless, and I find myself forgetting I have it in my pocket at all because of how small it is.


Some downsides

These earbuds can pair with multiple devices at once, but they will not always indicate when they are linked. Most earbuds have a voice that lets the user know when they are paired, yet these ones don’t have that function.


This is especially troubling when you are pairing them for the first time with a device because if done incorrectly the earbuds will not show up at all on the device. Unfortunately, this happened with my laptop and every time I have to hear something in a public area, I find out the hard way if they paired or not.


There are other things that earbuds can have issues with and for this pair, aside from the connectivity issues, they also have a very loose fit. That is to say that they slip out when you are wearing them casually. They do need re-adjustment as they are used.



Music is very important to me; I use it every day to entertain myself and to keep myself calm when I’m anxious. The medians we decide to use to hear music are very important, not to mention that earbuds are not exclusively meant for listening to music, and our private entertainment is something meant to be taken very seriously. I hope you find this review to be helpful!

10 views5 comments

5 comentarios


Jen England
Jen England
20 oct 2023

The battery life on these seems pretty impressive! Although the subpar noise canceling capability is a bummer, these do seem to be a decent more affordable option—thanks for sharing!

Me gusta

daltonb2
20 oct 2023

Thanks for writing this, great article. I thinks some people get to caught up in brand names and forget about quality. These look like great headphones at a cheap price.

Me gusta

michelle lópez
michelle lópez
19 oct 2023

Wow this was so helpful because it's not a mainstream item and sometimes when one would choose for a "cheaper" alternative you never really know what you're getting. This was definitely a convincing post and it's such comfort to know that if I got them, I wouldn't be wasting my money and would be getting a bang for your buck. Thanks so much for sharing! 😁

Me gusta

Emalie Hames
Emalie Hames
17 oct 2023

This is a great review for a not-very-popular pair of wireless earbuds. A lot of people think that if it's not an AirPod it isn't good. But in reality, there are great (cheaper) alternatives. I appreciate that you also showed some some downsides, it shows that this is a great and honest review.

Me gusta

Jorge Fonseca
Jorge Fonseca
16 oct 2023

Hey, thank you so much for this! My headphones are beginning to crash and work in weird ways. So your insight on cheap headphones and what to look up for with a great price attached is great. I think you narrowed this blog post in a great way by reviewing the pros and cons of these.

Me gusta
bottom of page