top of page

The Power of Positive Influences

Our mind is a very powerful place where all of our thoughts expand into our actual actions. A huge influence on our beliefs is the culture, and what is happening around us. One thing that is amazing about these modern times, is our easy accessibility to access information. So my personal opinion is that there is a very high amount of podcasts where I feel they speak from almost no experience, and just speak through opinions and preferences. The relationship coaches have also become a really popular topic on almost all of the media platforms. But I feel the information they give out can actually be damaging.


MY OPINION (Why not)

This opinion is specifically related to financial advice and also relationship advice. I notice that many people that are spreading relationship advice are either single, never married, or can't keep a man. That does not go to say these people don't have any merit or actual living experience. I just personally would not take any type of relationship advice from a person who has never been married, or who wasn't married for a long time. This same type of idea for me, also applies to parenting advice. It's harder to trust the word of a parent if their kids aren't happy with them, they don't have contact with their children.


ATTRIBUTES OF A GOOD PODCAST

It definitely depends on the content, but this is speaking on life advice. So some things I think make a good podcast are licensed professionals, marriages over 10 years, fact based information, and people that present both sides of a story.


Relationship Advisor:


Financial Podcast:


Mental Health Podcast:


Fashion Blogs:


Parenting Books:


WHERE TO FIND PODCASTS/ BLOGS

There is always a new way to find podcasts, but there is always the old reliable ways to find new


sources of content. The biggest ones are Youtube, Apple, Spotify, Google. Finding blogs/ and podcasts are great ways to expand your ideas, and get the positive reinforcement and push in the right direction. Youtube is nice because you get the podcast but you also get the video along with the conversation. Apple and Spotify are similar because there is an abundance of podcasts, and you don't have to look as hard.

Youtube:

Apple:

Spotify:

Google:

SOME OF MY PERSONAL FAVORITES

- Maintenance Phase

- Office Ladies

- Raw Talk

- Joe Rogan

- Jefffm

My most used method for watching educational content is highly centered in google/ and apple. When I am watching entertainment focused shows I like youtube, because the video aspect adds another layer. I like reading up on fashion blogs learning about different kinds materials, and the new waves fashion has been making. Another Podcast that I find very entertaining JEFFFM, they bring on crazy people with crazy stories, another nice thing about his podcast is that you can find it on apple and spotify.



WHAT CAN MAKE PODCASTS BETTER

I think people with Podcasts need to start off their shows with disclaimers or with a statement of their title. I think it's really productive his people with licenses introduced themselves as such saying I am a licensed psychologist, and so on. I feel like the same also applies to the opposite, a person that's not a professional or licensed should say that they are not a professional. There's just so many people that rely on peoples word for the truth, but when people are giving out such important advice it can really make someone trust them. For the entertainment aspect of it I like the idea of posting the podcasts on YouTube because the audience will get a visual as well as the conversation. A lot of people appreciate the video because they like to see their favorite creators, but also Youtubers putting their content on other platforms. Podcasts are great to listen to on a road trip, when you're studying, or whenever you just wanna watch something.


10 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 Comments


Griselda G
Griselda G
Nov 17, 2023

Personally I am not the type of person that listens to podcasts, but you made good points as well as provide your personal tastes. That alone gives me those listed to try out and see if I keep on listening, and add more to add to my personal collection of liked podcasts.

Like

emery00
emery00
Nov 16, 2023

All of your website recommendations for podcasts are very interesting. I also like how you give ways that podcasts can become better in some ways.

Like

anavalos
anavalos
Nov 16, 2023

I am always on the lookout for a good podcast. I will be checking these out.

Like

Jen England
Jen England
Nov 14, 2023

I appreciate that you wrap up your list with recommendations/considerations for making better podcasts. It's always helpful to be open to change/improvement!

Like
bottom of page