top of page

But first, coffee.

Rise & grind, it's coffee time! ☕️✨ Coffee has taken over the world. So much so that it is not a drink, it is an activity. Most people (like myself) need it in the morning. Of course, that could be an exaggeration... or is it? It would not be an exaggeration to say that coffee is on your list of duties for the morning. And this doesn't just go for the mornings, it also goes for afternoons and evenings. Heading to work in the morning? Let's stop for coffee. Heading back to work after lunch? Let's stop for coffee. Just got off work? Let's stop for coffee. It's a phenomenon and I am here for it. There's no other feeling than that first sip you take. Let's not forget about the smell too. That is another experience in itself. Coffee is so personalized too. Have you ever judged someone by their coffee order? Black, dark roast, light roast, cappuccino, iced coffee, cold brew, there is just so many things you can choose. I, myself, like a bit of creamer and no sugar. I like iced coffee too and for that I like caramel iced coffee. What's your coffee order?

 

The Recipe to Happiness

Now, much to this discussion, there is always talk about how bad coffee is for you and how you should stop drinking and blah blah blah. Well, I'm here to enlighten you and let you know that COFFEE IS GOOD FOR YOU. In moderation of course, you can’t have too much. But that goes for anything, too much of anything is bad for you. I know what you're thinking "how on earth can coffee be good for you?" Well don't take my word for it. According to Johns Hopkins, the case for coffee is stronger and stronger. There's been study after study that have determined that you could be getting more from your favorite cup of coffee than you thought. Yay. Now, you can drink your coffee in peace knowing you're gaining something. For starters, coffee is filled with substances that can help fight against underlying conditions. More commonly found in women are Alzheimer's disease and heart disease. YES, DRINKING COFFEE CAN HELP FIGHT THAT. So, go on girl. Enjoy your coffee!

Not to mention it contains antioxidants and other active ingredients that help reduce internal inflammation according to nutrition experts from Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. They have to know what they're talking about right? I mean they are the experts and not the people that are saying it's bad for you. In fact, here are some health benefits from drinking your delicious cup of Joe.
  • You could live longer

  • Your body may process glucose better

  • You're less likely to develop heart failure

  • You are like likely to develop Parkinson's disease

  • Your liver will thank you

  • Your DNA will be stronger

  • Your odds of getting colon cancer will go way down

  • You're not as likely to suffer a stroke.

But remember, there is a thing as taking too much. So, take in moderation. This could also be a good thing because you can save yourself some money if you don't drink too much coffee (another benefit). Another thing to consider is how much you add to your coffee. I know, I know, what a buzzkill right? But you have to consider the amount of cream and sugar you're adding to your coffee because if you load up on all that extra stuff, it could become an unhealthy drink and probably should not be drank every day. Don't you fear, you could still add things like milk, naturally sweet spices and flavorings, vanilla extract, cinnamon or cocoa powder. You don’t have to say goodbye to all your flavorings.

 

Just the Right Amount

So, what is the right amount? How much is too much coffee? According to Harvard T.H. Chan
moderate would be anywhere from 2-5 cups a day. That means you can have coffee for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Imagine that? Before this, coffee was thought to lead to health problems but now as research suggests, it does more good than harm. It was early research who had linked coffee to different diseases that included heart disease and asthma. However, it is important to not that many of these participants also smoked. Because of this, it led researchers to believe that coffee was culprit in these diseases, all of which have been led to smoking, NOT COFFEE. Unfortunately, this would not apply to everyone. That's right, certain people should be careful about drinking coffee, including children. There isn’t much information about the effects of children drinking coffee but we do know that caffeine does affect children, so it is recommended that they avoid caffeine altogether. They can enjoy some coffee in the morning around 12 years old, but how many of them actually like coffee? At what age do they start liking coffee anyway?
 
ONE BLACK COFFEE TO GO
I don't know why but for some reason, some people drink their coffee black. WHY? Is it for personal reasons? Do they genuinely like the taste? It will never make sense to me but did you know drinking BLACK COFFEE has more health benefits? It is low in calories and contains small amounts of vitamins and minerals. Thinking about losing some weight? Well did you know that Black coffee contains chlorogenic acid. What is that exactly? It's a substance that is responsible for speeding up weight loss. Not just that but it improves Cardiovascular Health, work as an anti-depressant, reduces cellulite, decreases the risk of getting gout, rich in antioxidants, improves your memory, cleanses your stomach and is good for your liver. The health benefits of drinking black coffee seem quite more beneficial than its counter parts. Would these benefits be a good enough reason for you to give up your cream or sugar?


Although, it is tempting to switch to black coffee, I can't do it. Maybe if it had other benefits like taking away my back pain, reducing headaches, changing your eye color to honey then maybe I might consider it but for now, I'll stick to my dunkin donuts creamer (my favorite). So, reach for that extra cup of coffee with no guilt. You deserve it! As a matter of fact, don't drink coffee for you, drink it for your health.



19 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 Comments


daltonb2
Nov 17, 2023

Awesome article, I just recently got on the coffee train about three months ago and it has really helped me. I feel so much sharper after a cup of coffee. I think coffee in moderation can be very beneficial.

Like

Emalie Hames
Emalie Hames
Nov 03, 2023

I have never been a coffee person but I am aware of the great benefits. I have been slowly trying to switch to coffee from my other sources of caffeine but I'm finding it hard 🥲. Maybe one day I'll find the maturity in my taste buds to allow me to enjoy coffee that isn't filled with sugar and cream.

Like

Jen England
Jen England
Nov 03, 2023

My rise and grind is Diet Coke. I've tried before to make the switch to coffee, but I couldn't find something I liked. I really need to give it another shot (espresso pun intended). I don't know that I can jump right into black coffee, though. Maybe I'll wait for Jorge to do it and see their reaction first ☺️

Like

Jorge Fonseca
Jorge Fonseca
Oct 30, 2023

Oh wow, this was a very insightful post. I never thought that different types of coffee could help me to achieve a healthier life. I will probably start drinking more black coffee, but must confess that I may not be a fan of it. And yes, when I was a kid I remember getting extremely weird when drinking coffee, so as with everything we must reach a good amount of coffee levels in our everyday lives. I have enjoyed reading through your post!

Like
bottom of page